Qu'est-ce que la perte auditive

La perte auditive est une incapacité partielle ou totale d'entendre. La perte auditive peut être présente à la naissance ou acquise à tout moment par la suite. Une perte auditive peut survenir dans une ou les deux oreilles. Chez les enfants, les problèmes d'audition peuvent affecter la capacité d'apprendre la langue parlée et chez les adultes, cela peut créer des difficultés d'interaction sociale et au travail. La perte auditive peut être temporaire ou permanente. La perte auditive liée à l'âge affecte généralement les deux oreilles et est due à la perte de cellules ciliées cochléaires. Chez certaines personnes, en particulier les personnes âgées, la perte auditive peut entraîner la solitude. Les personnes sourdes ont généralement peu ou pas d'audition.

La perte auditive peut être causée par un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment: la génétique, le vieillissement, l'exposition au bruit, certaines infections, les complications de la naissance, les traumatismes de l'oreille et certains médicaments ou toxines. Les infections chroniques de l'oreille sont une affection courante qui entraîne une perte auditive.Certaines infections pendant la grossesse, telles que le cytomégalovirus, la syphilis et la rubéole, peuvent également entraîner une perte auditive chez l'enfant.La perte auditive est diagnostiquée lorsque le test auditif révèle qu'une personne est incapable d'entendre 25 décibels dans au moins une oreille. Le dépistage d'une mauvaise audition est recommandé pour tous les nouveau-nés.La perte auditive peut être classée comme légère (25 à 40 dB), modérée (41 à 55 dB), modérée à sévère (56 à 70 dB), sévère (71 à 90 dB), ou profond (supérieur à 90 dB). Il existe trois principaux types de perte auditive: la perte auditive conductrice, la perte auditive neurosensorielle et la perte auditive mixte.

Environ la moitié des pertes auditives dans le monde peuvent être évitées grâce à des mesures de santé publique. Ces pratiques comprennent la vaccination, des soins appropriés pendant la grossesse, l’évitement du bruit fort et l’évitement de certains médicaments. L'Organisation mondiale de la santé recommande aux jeunes de limiter l'exposition aux sons forts et l'utilisation de lecteurs audio personnels à une heure par jour afin de limiter l'exposition au bruit. L'identification précoce et le soutien sont particulièrement importants chez les enfants. Pour de nombreux appareils auditifs, la langue des signes, les implants cochléaires et les sous-titres sont utiles. La lecture labiale est une autre compétence utile que certains développent, mais l'accès aux aides auditives est limité dans de nombreuses régions du monde.

En 2013, la perte auditive affecte environ 1.1 milliard de personnes dans une certaine mesure. Elle entraîne une incapacité chez environ 466 millions de personnes (5% de la population mondiale) et une incapacité modérée à sévère chez 124 millions de personnes. Parmi les personnes ayant un handicap modéré à sévère, 108 millions vivent dans des pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire. Parmi ceux qui ont une perte auditive, il a commencé pendant l'enfance pour 65 millions. Ceux qui utilisent la langue des signes et sont membres de la culture sourde se considèrent comme ayant une différence plutôt qu'une maladie. La plupart des membres de la culture sourde s'opposent aux tentatives de guérison de la surdité et certains au sein de cette communauté considèrent les implants cochléaires avec inquiétude car ils ont le potentiel d'éliminer leur culture. Le terme déficience auditive est souvent perçu de manière négative car il met l'accent sur ce que les gens ne peuvent pas faire.

Qu'est-ce que la perte auditive neurosensorielle

Votre oreille est composée de trois parties: l'oreille externe, moyenne et interne. La perte auditive neurosensorielle, ou SNHL, survient après une lésion de l'oreille interne. Des problèmes avec les voies nerveuses de votre oreille interne à votre cerveau peuvent également causer la SNHL. Les sons faibles peuvent être difficiles à entendre. Les sons encore plus forts peuvent ne pas être clairs ou sembler étouffés.

Il s'agit du type de perte auditive permanente le plus courant. La plupart du temps, la médecine ou la chirurgie ne peuvent pas réparer la SNHL. Les appareils auditifs peuvent vous aider à entendre.

Causes de la perte auditive neurosensorielle

Ce type de perte auditive peut être causé par les éléments suivants:

  • Les maladies.
  • Médicaments toxiques pour l'audition.
  • Perte auditive qui court dans la famille.
  • Vieillissement.
  • Un coup à la tête.
  • Un problème de formation de l'oreille interne.
  • Écouter des bruits forts ou des explosions.

Qu'est-ce que la perte auditive conductrice?

Votre oreille est composée de trois parties: l'oreille externe, moyenne et interne. Une perte auditive conductrice se produit lorsque les sons ne peuvent pas traverser l'oreille externe et moyenne. Il peut être difficile d'entendre les sons faibles. Les sons plus forts peuvent être étouffés.

La médecine ou la chirurgie peuvent souvent corriger ce type de perte auditive.

Causes de la perte auditive conductrice

Ce type de perte auditive peut être causé par les éléments suivants:

  • Liquide dans votre oreille moyenne du rhume ou des allergies.
  • Infection de l'oreille ou otite moyenne. L'otite est un terme utilisé pour désigner l'infection de l'oreille et le moyen signifie le milieu.
  • Mauvaise fonction de la trompe d'Eustache. La trompe d'Eustache relie votre oreille moyenne et votre nez. Le liquide dans l'oreille moyenne peut s'écouler par ce tube. Le liquide peut rester dans l'oreille moyenne si le tube ne fonctionne pas correctement.
  • Un trou dans votre tympan.
  • Tumeurs bénignes. Ces tumeurs ne sont pas cancéreuses mais peuvent bloquer l'oreille externe ou moyenne.
  • Du cérumen, ou cérumen, coincé dans votre conduit auditif.
  • Infection du conduit auditif, appelée otite externe. Vous pouvez entendre ce qu'on appelle l'oreille du nageur.
  • Un objet coincé dans votre oreille externe. Un exemple pourrait être si votre enfant met un caillou dans son oreille lorsqu'il joue à l'extérieur.
  • Un problème avec la formation de l'oreille externe ou moyenne. Certaines personnes naissent sans oreille externe. Certains peuvent avoir un conduit auditif déformé ou avoir un problème avec les os de l'oreille moyenne.

Qu'est-ce que la perte auditive mixte

Parfois, une perte auditive conductrice se produit en même temps qu'une perte auditive neurosensorielle, ou SNHL. Cela signifie qu'il peut y avoir des dommages dans l'oreille externe ou moyenne et dans l'oreille interne ou la voie nerveuse vers le cerveau. Il s'agit d'une perte auditive mixte.

Causes de la perte auditive mixte

Tout ce qui provoque une perte auditive conductrice ou SNHL peut entraîner une perte auditive mixte. Un exemple serait si vous avez une perte auditive parce que vous travaillez autour des bruits forts et que vous avez du liquide dans l'oreille moyenne. Les deux ensemble pourraient rendre votre audition pire qu'elle ne le serait avec un seul problème.

 

La perte auditive peut être temporaire ou permanente. Cela se produit souvent progressivement à mesure que vous vieillissez, mais cela peut parfois arriver soudainement.

Consultez votre médecin généraliste si vous remarquez des problèmes d'audition afin d'en découvrir la cause et d'obtenir des conseils sur le traitement.

Signes et symptômes de la perte auditive

Il n'est pas toujours facile de dire si vous perdez votre audition.

Les signes courants comprennent:

  • difficulté à entendre clairement les autres et mal comprendre ce qu'ils disent, surtout dans les endroits bruyants
  • demander aux gens de se répéter
  • écouter de la musique ou regarder la télévision fort
  • avoir à se concentrer dur pour entendre ce que les autres disent, ce qui peut être fatigant ou stressant

Les signes peuvent être légèrement différents si vous n'avez une perte auditive que dans une oreille ou si un jeune enfant a une perte auditive.

En savoir plus sur l' signes et symptômes de perte auditive.

Quand obtenir de l'aide médicale

Votre médecin peut vous aider si vous pensez que vous perdez votre audition.

  • Si vous ou votre enfant perdez soudainement l'audition (dans une ou les deux oreilles), appelez votre médecin ou NHS 111 Dès que possible.
  • Si vous pensez que votre audition ou celle de votre enfant s'aggrave progressivement, prenez rendez-vous avec votre médecin généraliste.
  • Si vous êtes préoccupé par l'audition d'un ami ou d'un membre de votre famille, encouragez-le à consulter son médecin généraliste.

Votre médecin vous posera des questions sur vos symptômes et regardera à l'intérieur de vos oreilles à l'aide d'une petite torche portative avec une loupe. Ils peuvent également faire quelques vérifications simples de votre audition.

Si nécessaire, ils peuvent vous référer à un spécialiste pour plus tests auditifs.

Causes de la perte auditive

La perte auditive peut avoir de nombreuses causes différentes. Par exemple:

  • Une perte auditive soudaine dans une oreille peut être due à cérumen, un infection de l'oreille, à tympan perforé (éclaté) or La maladie de Ménière.
  • Une perte auditive soudaine dans les deux oreilles peut être due à des dommages causés par un bruit très fort ou à la prise de certains médicaments pouvant affecter l'audition.
  • Une perte auditive progressive dans une oreille peut être due à quelque chose à l'intérieur de l'oreille, comme un liquide (oreille de colle), une croissance osseuse (otosclérose) ou une accumulation de cellules cutanées (cholestéatome)
  • La perte auditive progressive des deux oreilles est généralement causée par le vieillissement ou l'exposition à des bruits forts pendant de nombreuses années.

Cela peut vous donner une idée de la raison de la perte auditive - mais assurez-vous de consulter un médecin généraliste pour obtenir un diagnostic approprié. Il n'est peut-être pas toujours possible d'identifier une cause évidente.

Traitements de la perte auditive

La perte auditive s'améliore parfois d'elle-même ou peut être traitée avec des médicaments ou une procédure simple. Par exemple, le cérumen peut être aspiré ou ramolli avec des gouttes auriculaires.

Mais d'autres types - comme la perte auditive progressive, qui survient souvent avec l'âge - peuvent être permanents. Dans ces cas, le traitement peut aider à tirer le meilleur parti de l'audition restante. Cela peut impliquer l'utilisation:

  • appareils auditifs - plusieurs types différents sont disponibles sur le NHS ou en privé
  • implants - dispositifs qui sont attachés à votre crâne ou placés profondément à l'intérieur de votre oreille, si les aides auditives ne conviennent pas
  • différentes manières de communiquer - comme langage des signes ou lecture labiale

Découvrez traitements de la perte auditive.

Prévenir la perte auditive

Il n'est pas toujours possible de prévenir une perte auditive, mais vous pouvez faire certaines choses simples pour réduire le risque d'endommager votre audition.

Il s'agit notamment de:

  • ne pas avoir votre télévision, radio ou musique sur trop fort
  • utiliser des écouteurs qui bloquent plus de bruit extérieur, au lieu d'augmenter le volume
  • porter des protections auditives (comme des protecteurs auditifs) si vous travaillez dans un environnement bruyant, comme un garage ou un chantier de construction; Des bouchons d'oreille spéciaux ventilés qui permettent un peu de bruit sont également disponibles pour les musiciens
  • utiliser une protection auditive lors de concerts bruyants et d'autres événements où les niveaux de bruit sont élevés
  • ne pas insérer d'objets dans vos oreilles ou celles de vos enfants - cela inclut les doigts, les cotons-tiges, le coton et les tissus

En savoir plus conseils pour protéger votre audition.

close

Hearing Loss

What is Hearing loss

Hearing loss is a partial or total inability to hear. Hearing loss may be present at birth or acquired at any time afterwards. Hearing loss may occur in one or both ears. In children, hearing problems can affect the ability to learn spoken language and in adults it can create difficulties with social interaction and at work.Hearing loss can be temporary or permanent. Hearing loss related to age usually affects both ears and is due to cochlear hair cell loss.  In some people, particularly older people, hearing loss can result in loneliness. Deaf people usually have little to no hearing.

Hearing loss may be caused by a number of factors, including: genetics, ageing, exposure to noise, some infections, birth complications, trauma to the ear, and certain medications or toxins. A common condition that results in hearing loss is chronic ear infections.Certain infections during pregnancy, such as cytomegalovirus, syphilis and rubella, may also cause hearing loss in the child.Hearing loss is diagnosed when hearing testing finds that a person is unable to hear 25 decibels in at least one ear.  Testing for poor hearing is recommended for all newborns.Hearing loss can be categorized as mild (25 to 40 dB), moderate (41 to 55 dB), moderate-severe (56 to 70 dB), severe (71 to 90 dB), or profound (greater than 90 dB). There are three main types of hearing loss: conductive hearing loss, sensorineural hearing loss, and mixed hearing loss.

About half of hearing loss globally is preventable through public health measures. Such practices include immunization, proper care around pregnancy, avoiding loud noise, and avoiding certain medications. The World Health Organization recommends that young people limit exposure to loud sounds and the use of personal audio players to an hour a day in an effort to limit exposure to noise. Early identification and support are particularly important in children.For many hearing aids, sign language, cochlear implants and subtitles are useful. Lip reading is another useful skill some develop.Access to hearing aids, however, is limited in many areas of the world.

As of 2013 hearing loss affects about 1.1 billion people to some degree. It causes disability in about 466 million people (5% of the global population), and moderate to severe disability in 124 million people. Of those with moderate to severe disability 108 million live in low and middle income countries.  Of those with hearing loss, it began during childhood for 65 million. Those who use sign language and are members of Deaf culture see themselves as having a difference rather than an illness. Most members of Deaf culture oppose attempts to cure deafness  and some within this community view cochlear implants with concern as they have the potential to eliminate their culture. The term hearing impairment is often viewed negatively as it emphasizes what people cannot do.

What is Sensorineural Hearing Loss

Your ear is made up of three parts— the outer, the middle, and the inner ear. Sensorineural hearing loss, or SNHL, happens after inner ear damage. Problems with the nerve pathways from your inner ear to your brain can also cause SNHL. Soft sounds may be hard to hear. Even louder sounds may be unclear or may sound muffled.

This is the most common type of permanent hearing loss. Most of the time, medicine or surgery cannot fix SNHL. Hearing aids may help you hear.

Causes of Sensorineural Hearing Loss

This type of hearing loss can be caused by the following things:

  • Illnesses.
  • Drugs that are toxic to hearing.
  • Hearing loss that runs in the family.
  • Aging.
  • A blow to the head.
  • A problem in the way the inner ear is formed.
  • Listening to loud noises or explosions.

What is Conductive Hearing Loss

Your ear is made up of three parts— the outer, the middle, and the inner ear. A conductive hearing loss happens when sounds cannot get through the outer and middle ear. It may be hard to hear soft sounds. Louder sounds may be muffled.

Medicine or surgery can often fix this type of hearing loss.

Causes of Conductive Hearing Loss

This type of hearing loss can be caused by the following:

  • Fluid in your middle ear from colds or allergies.
  • Ear infection, or otitis media. Otitis is a term used to mean ear infection, and media means middle.
  • Poor Eustachian tube function. The Eustachian tube connects your middle ear and your nose. Fluid in the middle ear can drain out through this tube. Fluid can stay in the middle ear if the tube does not work correctly.
  • A hole in your eardrum.
  • Benign tumors. These tumors are not cancer but can block the outer or middle ear.
  • Earwax , or cerumen, stuck in your ear canal.
  • Infection in the ear canal, called external otitis. You may hear this called swimmer’s ear.
  • An object stuck in your outer ear. An example might be if your child put a pebble in his ear when playing outside.
  • A problem with how the outer or middle ear is formed. Some people are born without an outer ear. Some may have a deformed ear canal or have a problem with the bones in their middle ear.

What is Mixed Hearing Loss

Sometimes, a conductive hearing loss happens at the same time as a sensorineural hearing loss, or SNHL. This means that there may be damage in the outer or middle ear and in the inner ear or nerve pathway to the brain. This is a mixed hearing loss.

Causes of Mixed Hearing Loss

Anything that causes a conductive hearing loss or SNHL can lead to a mixed hearing loss. An example would be if you have a hearing loss because you work around loud noises and you have fluid in your middle ear. The two together might make your hearing worse than it would be with only one problem.

How to Prevent Hearing Loss

Many adults eventually realize they’re pressing the “volume up” button on the TV remote more often, or that a lot of people around them need to speak up. There are two common reasons people start to lose their hearing:

Age: As you get older, the tiny hair cells in your inner ears slowly break down and can’t pick up sound vibrations as well as they used to.

Noise: A lot of loud sound over time can damage the hair cells in your ears.

The good news? You can do some things to avoid noise-induced hearing loss and keep age-related hearing loss from getting worse. Here are eight tips to help keep your ears as sharp as possible.

1. Avoid Too Much Noise

How loud is too loud? If you have to shout over the noise around you, it’s loud enough to damage your hearing. Sounds from motorcycles, concert speakers, power tools like saws and drills, earphones, and more are all loud enough to make a difference.

2. Be a Quiet Enforcer

Think about buying appliances and devices that have low noise ratings. And if it’s too loud in the movie theater, restaurant, or any other place you go often, ask the manager to turn it down.

3. Limit Loud Sounds in Your Life

Sometimes you can’t avoid the blare of an ambulance siren or the jackhammer on your street corner. But it’s best to limit the amount of time you’re around them. Noise-induced hearing loss is a result of the loudness of sounds and how long you hear them.

4. Wear Hearing Protection

If you know you’re going to be around loud sounds for more than a few minutes, think about wearing protection, such as:

  • Earplugs. Usually made of foam or rubber, they go in your ear canal and can reduce noise by 15 to 30 decibels. You can buy them off-the-shelf or have them custom-made to fit you. Some earplugs lower noise levels evenly across all frequencies. They’re useful for people who need to make sound quieter but undistorted, such as musicians.
  • Earmuffs. These fit completely over your ears and reduce sounds by about 15 to 30 decibels. They have to fit tightly over both ears to block sound.

You can also wear earplugs and earmuffs together for even greater protection.

5. Don’t Smoke

Tobacco can make you more likely to lose your hearing, too, research shows. So if you light up, that’s one more good reason to quit. If you aren’t a smoker, avoid breathing secondhand smoke.

6. Remove Earwax Properly

A buildup of wax in your ears can muffle sound. But don’t use a cotton swab to clean them out — they can push wax deeper in. Instead, use an at-home irrigation kit to soften wax and gently wash it out. If it gets compacted in your ear, your doctor may need to remove it.

7. Check Medications for Hearing Risks

About 200 drugs can damage hearing, including some antibiotics and cancer-fighting drugs. Even high doses of aspirin can harm your ears. If you take a prescription medication, check with your doctor to make sure it won’t make an impact. If you must take a medication that may harm your ears, make sure your doctor checks your hearing and balance before and during your treatment.

8. Have Your Hearing Tested

Make an appointment to get a hearing test if you:

  • Have close relatives with hearing loss
  • Have trouble hearing conversations
  • Are around loud noises on a regular basis
  • Often hear ringing in your ears

Hearing Loss Treatment

Help is available for people with all types of hearing loss. Treatment depends on both the cause and severity of the deafness.

Sensorineural hearing loss is incurable. When the hair cells in the cochlea are damaged, they cannot be repaired. However, various treatments and strategies can help improve quality of life.

Hearing aids

Hearing aids Share on Pinterest
Hearing aids can help to improve hearing and quality of life.

These are wearable devices that assist hearing.

There are several types of hearing aid. They come in a range of sizes, circuitries, and levels of power. Hearing aids do not cure deafness but amplify the sound that enters the ear so that the listener can hear more clearly.

Hearing aids consist of a battery, loudspeaker, amplifier, and microphone. Today, they are very small, discreet, and can fit inside the ear. Many modern versions can distinguish background noise from foreground sounds, such as speech.

A hearing aid is not suitable for a person with profound deafness.

The audiologist takes an impression of the ear to make sure the device fits well. It will be adjusted to suit auditory requirements.

Examples of hearing aids include:

Behind-the-ear (BTE) hearing aids: These consist of a dome called an earmold and a case, with a connection linking one to the other. The case sits behind the outer ear, with the connection to the dome coming down the front of the ear. The sound from the device is either electrically or acoustically routed to the ear.

BTE hearing aids tend to last longer than other devices, as the electrical components are located outside the ear, meaning that there is less moisture and earwax damage These devices are more popular with children who need a sturdy and easy-to-use device.

In-the-canal (ITC) hearing aids: These fill the outer part of the ear canal and can be seen. Soft ear inserts, usually made of silicone, are used to position the loudspeaker inside the ear. These devices fit most patients straight away and have better sound quality.

Completely in the canal (CIC) hearing aids: These are tiny, discreet devices but not recommended for people with severe hearing loss.

Bone conduction hearing aids: These assist people with conductive hearing loss, as well as those unable to wear conventional type hearing aids. The vibrating part of the device is held against the mastoid with a headband. The vibrations go through the mastoid bone, to the cochlea. These devices can be painful or uncomfortable if worn for too long.

Cochlear implants

If the eardrum and middle ear are functioning correctly, a person may benefit from a cochlear implant.

This thin electrode is inserted into the cochlea. It stimulates electricity through a tiny microprocessor placed under the skin behind the ear.

A cochlear implant is inserted to help patients whose hearing impairment is caused by hair cell damage in the cochlea. The implants usually improve speech comprehension. The latest cochlear implants have new technology that helps patients enjoy music, understand speech better even with background noise, and use their processors while they are swimming.

According to the National Institutes of Health (NIH), there were about 58,000 adults and 38,000 children with cochlear implants in the U.S. as of 2012. The World Health Organization (WHO) says approximately 219,000 people globally use one, most of them in industrial countries.

On the outside, a cochlear implant consists of:

  • A microphone: This gathers sound from the environment.
  • A speech processor: This prioritizes the sounds that matter more to the patient, such as speech. The electrical sound signals are split into channels and sent through a very thin wire to the transmitter.
  • A transmitter: This is a coil secured with a magnet. It is located behind the outer ear and transmits the processed sound signals to the internally implanted device.

On the inside:

  • A surgeon secures a receiver and stimulator in the bone beneath the skin. The signals are converted into electrical impulses and sent through internal wires to the electrodes.
  • Up to 22 electrodes are wound through the cochlea. The impulses are sent to the nerves in the lower passages of the cochlea and then directly to the brain. The number of electrodes depends on manufacturers of the implant.

Children will usually have cochlear implants in both ears, while adults tend to have just one.

Blog

Sidebar